All Sections

What do Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso and their F1 rivals get paid?

If you assumed all Formula One drivers were rolling in dough, you’d be right, but not all of them have the readies to dive into a swimming pool full of gold coins, Scrooge McDuck-style. 

According to 2014 figures released by Business Book GP2014, Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso retains the top spot, pulling in €22 million — €2 million more than he earned in 2013.

Lewis Hamilton: raking it in.
Lewis Hamilton: raking it in.

Alonso is not alone, however, his team-mate Kimi Raikkonnen and Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel also earn €22, which is €19 million and €10 million more than both drivers earned in 2013, respectively.

Next on the rich list is Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, who rakes in a basic salary of €20, €4 million more than fellow Brit Jenson Button at McLaren, and €8 million more than his team mate Nico Rosberg.

Ferrari-turned-Williams driver Felipe Massa will pull in €4 million, the same as Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg, and €1 million more than Sergio Perez.

Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean earn €3 million at Lotus and newbie Kevin Magnussen rakes in €1 million at McLaren – the same as Valterri Bottas.

Daniel Ricciardo, who leads his highly-paid team-mate at Red Bull, will earn €750,000 in 2014 – the same as former team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne. Next on the list is Jules Bianchi on €500,000, Esteban Gutierrez on €400,000, Daniil Kvyat on €250,000 and Max Chilton on €200,000.

Caterham Drivers Kamui Kobayashi and Marcus Ericsson earn €150,000 each.

Driver Team Salary
Fernando Alonso Ferrari

€22 million

Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari

€22 million

Sebastian Vettel Red Bull

€22 million

Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG

€20 million

Jenson Button McLaren

€16 million

Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG

€12 million

Felipe Massa Williams

€4 million

Nico Hulkenberg Force India

€4 million

Sergio Perez Force India

€3 million

Adrian Sutil Sauber

€2 million

Pastor Maldonado Lotus

€3 million

Romain Grosjean Lotus

€3 million

Kevin Magnussen McLaren

€1 million

Valterri Bottas Williams

€1 million

Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull


Jean-Eric Vergne Torro Rosso


Jules Bianchi Marussia


Esteban Gutierrez Sauber €400,000
Daniil Kvyat McLaren €250,000

Max Chilton

Marussia €200,000
Kamui Kobayashi Caterham €150,000
Marcus Ericsson Caterham €150,000


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *