Show/hide navigation

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 in a nutshell: Hands-on review, specs and UK release info

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 in a nutshell: Huawei has officially launched the wallet-friendly P8 Lite 2017 edition, which is coming to the UK in February for an asking price of under £200. Here’s everything you need to know about the Huawei P8 Lite 2017, including our unboxing and hands-on review, full specs, UK release info and what networks you can pick it up from.

Last year Huawei’s excellent flagship smartphone, dubbed the Huawei P9, came in an alternative form for anyone who was a bit more skint: the pleasingly affordable P9 Lite.

The P9 Lite had a weaker camera and cut back the performance of the fully fledged P9, but gave consumers the chance to enjoy Huawei’s feature-packed Emotion UI for roughly half the cost. And now it looks like the P9 Lite has a direct rival in the affordable phones bracket, as Huawei has just launched the similarly affordable P8 Lite 2017.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Huawei P8 Lite 2017 and its UK launch, including how it compares with the original P8 and P8 Lite phones. We've also gone hands-on with the P8 Lite 2017, to show you more of the design, features and camera tech.

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 Specs

Phone Huawei P8 Lite 2017
Weight 147g
Screen size and type 5.2-inches IPS
Screen resolution 1920x1080
Fingerprint sensor? Yes
OS Android 7.0 + EMUI 5.0
Processor Kirin 655
RAM 3GB
Storage 16GB
microSD? Yes (in 2nd SIM slot)
Battery 3000mAh
USB Type 2.0
Rear camera 12MP
Front camera 8MP

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 vs Huawei P8 vs Huawei P9 Lite: What’s the difference?

The name of the P8 Lite 2017 is interesting (slash confusing) as you’d naturally expect it to be a stripped-down version of the Huawei P8, Huawei’s previous flagship phone before the P9. However, we've already had that phone in the form of the original P8 Lite, and this P8 Lite 2017 model actually boasts better specs in some regards than the fully-fledged P8, making It a rather enticing budget offering.

Not too many phones under £200 boast a Full HD screen for one. Only the likes of the Moto G4 and G4 Plus and the Lenovo P2 enjoy a 1920x1080 display resolution at this price point. That's the same as the original P8, and the P9 Lite.

You get a Kirin 655 processor backed by 3GB of RAM, which so far seems to provide solid performance. We’ll be testing this in full for our Huawei P8 Lite 2017 review, of course. It's a step up from the Kirin tech stashed inside the P8 and P9 Lite, so you can definitely expect a smoother everyday experience. You also get a mighty 3000mAh battery, which is bigger than the original P8’s cell and so far can give all-day battery life without any kind of struggle.

Even more impressive is that the Huawei P8 Lite 2017 ships with Android Nougat 7.0 and the excellent Emotion UI 5.0. In normal speak, that means you’ll get the latest features from Google and Huawei packed inside, including improved power management, split-screen multitasking and more. That's something we're still waiting on for the Huawei P8 and P9 Lite.

You also have a 12-megapixel rear camera which boasts Phase Detection Autofocus, for a quick shutter action and sharp results. Around the front is an 8-megapixel snapper, for crisp and colourful selfies. Check out our P8 Lite 2017 camera review for our full analysis and samples.

Rounding off the impressive specs list is a fingerprint sensor and dual SIM support (with microSD memory cards accepted in the second SIM slot).

Check out our in-depth Huawei P8 Lite 2017 vs Huawei P9 Lite vs Honor 6X comparison review to see how the new P8 Lite stacks up against the other most affordable Huawei phones of 2017.

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 hands-on review and unboxing

We've already got our hands on the P8 Lite 2017 and so far we're definitely fans. Here's our full P8 Lite 2017 unboxing and hands-on review, taking a closer look at the design, interface, features and camera tech.

Huawei P8 Lite 2017 UK price and release date

The Huawei P8 Lite 2017 is available to buy in the UK right now. You can either bag it SIM-free for £185, or else Vodafone is the first UK network to stock the phone. Contracts start at £16 per month.

Stay tuned for our in-depth Huawei P8 Lite 2017 review.

You should also read

Promoted stories

Join the conversation

Back to top ↑