Netflix has launched a service that allows you to secretly share your top tips and guilty pleasures with your mates.
The Netflix Social Recommendation means after you’ve watched Trailer Park Boys, Archer or American Ninja 4: The Annihilation, you can privately recommend the show to only those you want to see it.
Quite why you wouldn’t want to tell the world how much you liked American Ninja 4: The Annihilation is beyond us but in case you want to keep any recommendationds on the lowdown, you can privately tell your mates about it via a Facebook message.
Cameron Johnson, director of product innovation at Netflix said: “You know that feeling when you’ve watched something really great, something that moves you or makes you laugh, and you immediately think of someone else who would love it too? It’s the feeling of wanting your friends and family to enjoy the show just as much as you did.
“The next time you watch a great story on Netflix, passing it along to someone you care about will be just a click away.”
Once you’ve connected your account to Facebook, you can choose which of your friends you want to recommend the show to by clicking on their profile pictures.
Netflix will then send them a private message to say you’ve recommended a programme and you’ll be notified when they watch it or add it to their list to watch in the future.
Connecting Netflix to your Facebook account will not post anything to your wall or give the company access to your account, Netflix says.
The new feature will be available via Netflix’s service on the website, iPad, iPhone, PS3, Xbox, selected set-top boxes and smart TVs.