All Sections

Good deal: Pick up a OnePlus One for under £165, this week only

For a flagship that was affordable to begin with, OnePlus’ latest flash sale knocks the price of its One smartphone down to an amazing $249 (£164) for the first week of June.

We’re big fans of the OnePlus One; not only did it break into the market with killer hardware, stellar battery life and a distinctive take on Android, but the small team of people behind it came across as passionate, savvy and were ready to take the big companies head on. Let’s say we fell in love with their underdog story.

Since then through a mix of strong reviews, invite-only availability and smart social marketing, the OnePlus One has made a name for itself as a serious contender against the big-brand smartphones and with the OnePlus 2 expected to arrive in the near future, a lot of eyes are currently glued to the Chinese manufacturer’s interesting retail strategy.

OnePlus One

In case you don’t know the OnePlus One all that well, it’s the debut creation of independent smartphone maker OnePlus. It originally launched in late April last year under an invite-only purchase model, which garnered plenty of interest from tech fans. Nowadays you can nab one anytime you want, whoever you are, which is ideal as this latest flash sale only last until June 7th.

Hardware-wise the phone packs a sizeable 5.5-inch Full HD display, a Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 processor, 3GB of RAM, a 13-megapixel Sony-sensor within its rear camera, 4G and a 3100mAh battery. The flash sale is offering up the smaller 16GB model in Silk White for $249, whilst the 64GB Sandstone Black variant has been discounted to $299 (£197), which is still an absolute steal.

OnePlus has scheduled international times for the sales as follows:

  • June 1 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 2 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 3 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 4 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 5 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 6 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 7 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)

OnePlus has had a number of sales or offers on OnePlus One handsets and associated accessories, likely in an attempt to sell off remaining stock and maintain a high profile ahead of the launch of the One’s successor, which is currently expected to arrive during Autumn, later this year.

Will you be taking OnePlus up on this deal? Let us know in the comments below.

Comments